2017 Summer Shows and Events

The Long Preston May Day kick started this year’s show season with family friendly fun in the beautiful Yorkshire Dales village! The Ribble Rivers Trust were attending the show for a second year in order to showcase the work we have been carrying out in the area and around the catchment.  

Shows are a great way for us to spread the word about the work we do. The shows we attend are varied in theme and location, from agricultural shows in the scenic Yorkshire Dales to ocean celebration days on the bright and lively Blackpool Promanade!

This means that when we attend these shows we can meet and speak to people from all walks of life and we can make sure that the information we have is relevant to their communities, heritage, and local environment. Our stands are often a little different from the other attendees with interactive displays such as our river table, kids educational (and fun!) activities and competitions, and when the weather permits, live invertebrates.

In 2016 we attended just over a dozen shows but thanks to our funders we’ll be attending more shows than ever this year with nineteen already booked! Our team have also improved and developed our displays to include a range of new information boards, demonstrations, and activities which are designed to appeal and educate everyone from school children to anglers to farmers.

However, there’s more to the Ribble Rivers Trust’s summer than just shows! Throughout the summer months our staff team up with other organisations to arrange special one off clean ups, invertebrate sampling days, family fun days, and guided walks which are designed to educate people about the local environment, the many species that live here, and how we can improve the catchment to help them.

So, whether it’s at one the many brilliant shows we are attending or at one of our volunteer events we look forward to meeting you in person!

You can find us at the below shows. Please stop by and have a chat, our staff love what we do and want to share our work, knowledge, and experience with others!

Sunday 6th May 2017
Long Preston May Day
Saturday 20th May 2017
Art in the Garden
Sunday 21st May 2017
Art in the Garden
Sunday 28th May 2017
Thompson Park Fun Day
Monday 29th May 2017
Great Harwood Agricultural Society Show
Thursday 8th June 2017
World Ocean Day, Blackpool
Sunday 11th June 2017
PAAS Ribchester
Sunday 11th June 2017
Myerscough College Open Day
Saturday 1st July 2017
Barrowford Life
Sunday 2nd July 2017
Brun Valley Forest Park Fun Day
Saturday 8th July 2017
Goosnargh and Longridge Agricultural Show
Wednesday 2nd August 2017
Invertebrate Family Fun Open Event, Peel Park
Saturday 12th August 2017
Clitheroe Food Festival
Friday 11th August 2017
The Royal Lancashire Show
Saturday 12th August 2017
The Royal Lancashire Show
Sunday 13th August 2017
The Royal Lancashire Show
Sunday 13th August 2017
The Trawden Show
Sunday 20th August 2017
Thompson Park Fun Day
Saturday 26th August 2017
Chipping Agricultural Show
Saturday 9th September 2017
The Hodder Valley Show
Sunday 10th September 2017
Towneley Heritage and Woodland Festival